Battle of the Books

Battle of the Books (BotB) is a reading incentive program for students in the third through twelfth grades.

The Battle questions are selected from the Sunshine State Young Readers Award (SSYRA) books for elementary and middle schools each year. Battle questions for high school students are selected from the Florida Teens Read state list.

At the elementary level, the schools are divided geographically for the competition. This is due to the popularity of the event and the large number of schools participating.

Southern Elementary Battle of the Books Schools:  Hartley Elementary, Mason Elementary, Mill Creek Academy, Picolata Crossing Elementary, Palencia Elementary, Crookshank Elementary, Osceola Elementary, Ketterlinus Elementary,  South Woods Elementary, Trout Creek Academy, R.B Hunt Elementary, Wards Creek Elementary, and the Webster School.

Northern Elementary Battle of the Books Schools:  Cunningham CreekElementary, Durbin Creek Elementary, Hickory Creek Elementary, Freedom Crossing Academy, Julington Creek Elementary, Lakeside Academy, Liberty Pines Academy, Ocean Palms Elementary, Palm Valley Academy, Patriot Oaks Academy, PV/PV Rawlings Elementary, Pine Island Academy,  Timberlin Creek Elementary, and Valley Ridge Academy.

Winners For 2022-2023


Past Winners

YearElementary Winner (North County)Elementary Winner (South County)Middle School WinnerHigh School Winner
2023/2024Freedom Crossing AcademyOtis MasonPacetti Bay Middle SchoolBeachside High School
2022/2023Julington CreekMill Creek AcademySwitzerland PointPedro Menendez High School
2021/2022Durbin Creek and Timberlin CreekOtis MasonSwitzerland PointCreekside
2020/2021Timberlin CreekJohn A CrookshankPatriot Oaks AcademyCreekside
2019/2020Timberlin CreekMasonPalm Valley Academy and LandrumNease
2018/2019PV/PV/Rawlings tied Durbin CreekPalenciaPacetti BayBartram Trail
2017/2018PV/PV/RawlingsPalenciaSwitzerland PointCreekside
2016/2017PV/PV/RawlingsPalenciaSwitzerland PointCreekside
2015/2016Durbin CreekSouth WoodsPatriot OaksCreekside
2014/2015Durbin CreekMasonSwitzerland PointPonte Vedra
2013/2014Timberlin Creek and Durbin CreekPalencia and South WoodsSwitzerland PointNease
2012/2013PVPVPalenciaSwitzerland PointCreekside
2011/2012Hickory CreekMasonSwitzerland PointCreekside
2010/2011Hickory CreekThe Webster SchoolSwitzerland PointNease
2009/2010Hickory CreekThe Webster SchoolPacetti BayPonte Vedra
2008/2009Hickory CreekThe Webster SchoolSwitzerland PointCreekside
2007/2008Julington CreekThe Webster SchoolSwitzerland PointBartram Trail
2006/2007PVPV/RawlingsR.B. HuntGamble RogersBartram Trail
© 2024 St. Johns County School District