Child Abuse

Child abuse defined by Florida State Statute 827.03, is

Intentional infliction of physical or mental injury upon a child; An intentional act that could reasonably be expected to result in physical or mental injury to a child; or active encouragement of any person to commit an act that results or could reasonably be expected to result in physical or mental injury to a child.

Florida Abuse Hotline

If you suspect or know of a child or vulnerable adult in immediate danger, call 911

Any person who knows, or has reasonable cause to suspect, that a child is abused, abandoned, or neglected by a parent, legal custodian, caregiver, or other person responsible for the child’s welfare is a mandatory reporter. § 39.201(1)(a), Florida Statutes.

The Florida Abuse Hotline accepts reports 24 hours a day and 7 days a week of known or suspected child abuse, neglect, or abandonment and reports of known or suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. To make a report you can –

  • Report online on the FL Department of Children and Families website.
  • Call 1-800-96-ABUSE (1-800-962-2873)
    • Press 1 to report suspected abuse, neglect or abandonment of a child
    • Press 2 to report suspected abuse, neglect or exploitation of the elderly or a vulnerable adult
    • Press 3 to verify the identity of a child protective investigator who recently visited you
    • Press 4 for information/referrals to other services in your local area.
  • Florida Relay 711 or TTY 800-955-8771
  • Fax your report to 800-914-0004

Be prepared to provide the following information:

  • Reporter name (this is required for professionally mandated reporters)
  • Victim name, possible responsible person, or alleged perpetrator name(s)
  • Complete addresses for subjects, including a numbered street address, apartment or lot number, city, state, and zip code and/or directions to their location
  • Telephone numbers, including area code
  • Estimated or actual dates of birth
  • Social Security numbers, if available
  • A brief, yet concise, description of the abuse, neglect, abandonment, or exploitation, including physical, mental or sexual injuries, if any.
  • Names of other residents and their relationship to the victim(s), if available
  • A brief description of the victim’s disability or infirmity (required for vulnerable adults)
  • The relationship of the alleged perpetrator to the victim



© 2024 St. Johns County School District