Lifetime Achievement Awards

Mr. Vernon Davis and St. Johns County Commissioner Paul Waldron were honored as the recipients of the 2018 Learning Legacy Lifetime Achievement Awards. These awards are presented annually to former St. Johns County public school students who have returned to the area and dedicated their time and talents to serving their community. A presentation was made to Davis and Waldron by Superintendent Tim Forson on Friday, October 19 prior to kickoff at the football game between St. Augustine and Allen D. Nease high schools.

Mr. Vernon Davis graduated from St. Augustine High School (SAHS) in 1960 as a student in its first graduating class. He was also the first starting quarterback ever to play on the SAHS football field. He enjoyed sports and played football, basketball and baseball during his high school career. After graduation he served in the Marine Corps for four years and then earned a degree in building and construction from the University of Florida.

He joined the family business, A.D. Davis Construction and served as its president from 1983 to 2004. In this role Davis was a building contractor for several school district construction projects including the Orange Street Administration building renovation and canopy, Crookshank Elementary cafeteria, Murray Middle School roof replacement and St. Augustine High School’s locker room renovation, just to name a few.

In 2011 he was inducted into the St. Johns Builders Council Hall of Fame, recognizing his 40-year career in construction. He served on the Pedro Menendez Trade School committee, the St. Augustine Little League Board of Directors, and the St. Johns Builders Council. Davis was a volunteer for Project Swing and the head baseball coach at St. Joseph’s Academy.

He and his wife, Donna have three sons, Todd, Michael and Rhett and one daughter, Courtney. They are also blessed with 11 grandchildren.

Commissioner Waldron graduated from St. Augustine High School in 1986 where he played golf all four years. He stayed local and attended Flagler College where he earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration.

He is an owner and operator of Harry’s Curb Mart and also works in real estate. Waldron served as the assistant girls soccer coach at Pedro Menendez High School for six years and coached youth soccer in the community for 12 years.

His involvement in clubs, councils, committees and boards includes the Friends of A1A, Public Safety Council, St. Johns County Cultural Resource Review Board, Juvenile Justice Council, Kiwanis and the Northeast Florida Regional Council Executive Committee. He is the Past President of the St. Augustine Shrine Club, Past Master Ashlar Masonic Lodge number 98 and the past Zone 3 Chairman for youth activities for the Masonic Grand Lodge of Florida.

Commissioner Waldron was elected to the St. Johns County Board of County Commissioners to represent District 3 in 2016 and serves as the liaison to the school district. He and his wife, Stephanie, have two daughters, Ashley and Kati.

Past recipients of the Learning Legacy Lifetime Achievement Award are former Superintendent of Schools Otis Mason, the late Judge Richard Watson, former Pedro Menendez High School (PMHS) Principal and School Board Member Bill Mignon, Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind teacher-coach Hank White, the late Sheriff Neil Perry, former basketball coach Doris Blackshear, former Representative Doug Wiles, former PMHS football coach Dwaine Fisher, School Board Member Tommy Allen, St. Johns Technical High School and St. Johns Virtual School Principal Cynthia Williams, retired Assistant Superintendent Martha Mickler, CPA Brad Davis, former St. Augustine High School (SAHS) Principal Tyrone Ramsey, former Chamber of Commerce President Robin Burchfield, retired Barnett Bank President Bill Young, former St. Johns County Tobacco Prevention Coordinator Nancy Birchall, Allen D. Nease High School Dean of Students Kelvin “Bernie” Blue, SAHS Yellow Jackets broadcaster Barry Kass, author and board of trustees member for the St. Augustine Historical Society Beth Rogero Bowen, former Alternative Schools Teacher of the Year Rocky Merrill, retired banking executive John W. Daniels, Terrell Hogan attorney Wayne Hogan, Judge Clyde Wolfe, the late SAHS teacher Hattie Jenkins, former-Mayor Len Weeks, retired Director of Risk Management Carol Holtz, Speech-Language Pathologist Katherine Batenhorst, president of The Browning Agency of Ponte Vedra, Inc. Jim Browning, retired teacher and guidance counselor Barbara McClain, Pastor Smiley Sturgis, Dr. Leonard Pellicer, St. Johns Sheriff’s Office Deputy Anthony Coleman, Commander Michele Perry and Ponte Vedra High School Assistant Principal Guy Harris.

All recipients’ names are inscribed on a perpetual plaque that hangs outside the Superintendent’s Office.