Currently browsing

January 2016

2016 Spelling Bee Winner

Sreeniketh Vogoti, a seventh-grade student at Fruit Cove Middle School, won the 2016 St. Johns County School District (SJCSD) Spelling Bee held yesterday at the Fullerwood Learning Center. He won by spelling the word “reprieve” correctly. Sreeniketh is the son of Padamja and Balasubramanyam Vogoti.

Thirty-two elementary and middle school students from 28 public and four private schools competed for the honor of representing St. Johns County in The Florida Times-Union Regional Spelling Bee on Saturday, February 27 at the Jacksonville Main Public Library. If for any reason the winner is not able to attend, runner-up Mary Kathryn Reynolds of Ocean Palms Elementary School will represent the county.

It took 49 rounds for the winner to be determined. The participants were congratulated by School Board Members Beverly Slough and Kelly Barrera, Superintendent Joseph Joyner and Assistant Superintendent Martha Mickler.

WAOC 96.5 FM broadcasted the spelling bee live and streamed it on their website. Community Relations also taped the event.

The winner of the regional spelling bee will advance to compete in the Scripps National Spelling Bee scheduled in May in Washington, D.C.

Laurie Hays, SJCSD program specialist for Elementary Language Arts, served as the spelling bee coordinator and the pronouncer was Linda Villadoniga, retired SJCSD teacher. Judges for the event were Tommy Bledsoe, SJCSD program specialist; Cheryl Freeman, director of retired and senior volunteer program; Sandy Waldeis, community representative; and Laurie Hays.

The Spelling Bee will be broadcast on Saturday, January 16 at 6 p.m. on SEA TV channels 99 or 262.


Teachers and Rookie Teachers of the Year 2015/2016

The 2015-2016 Teachers of the Year and Rookie Teachers of the Year have been selected from each of the district’s 38 schools and were recognized at the monthly School Board meeting last night.

These nominees represent the very best among St. Johns County School District teachers. Their colleagues have selected them for this prestigious honor, and they will advance to compete for the countywide title.

Nominations for the 2015-2016 Rookie Teacher of the Year have been submitted by 36 of the district’s schools. Eligible teachers must have taught less than three years.

This is the ninth year that the Rookie Teacher of the Year competition has been held. These nominees represent the top of their profession among new teachers, and will go on to compete for the countywide title.

The overall winner will be announced at the annual Teacher of the Year and Rookie Teacher of the Year Celebration on Tuesday, January 26 at the Renaissance Resort at the World Golf Village. The St. Johns County Teacher of the Year will then be included for consideration as the Florida Department of Education Macy’s Teacher of the Year 2016.

The awards banquet is produced by Investing in Kids (INK) to recognize excellence in the teaching profession and is sponsored, in part, by THE PLAYERS, Beaver Toyota/Scion and Leonard’s Studios.

Below are the lists of nominees. For additional information and tickets to the event, contact Donna Lueders at INK, (904) 547-7120.

2015 TOY List


# # #