National Merit Semifinalists 2015

Twenty-two St. Johns County seniors have qualified as National Merit Semifinalists for 2015.

These students placed among the top 1 percent of all students in the country taking the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT)/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test given annually to high school juniors. As 22 of approximately 16,000 semifinalists nationwide, they are now eligible to advance to the finalist competition to vie for about 7,600 scholarships worth more than $33 million to be announced in April 2015.

From the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level, and in February they will be notified of this designation. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2015. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit® $2500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational basis. The remaining scholarships are provided by approximately 240 National Merit Scholarship corporate sponsors as well as some 4,100 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.

The semifinalists are Ashlee Jamerson and Connor McLevey from Creekside High School; Jenna Abell from Pedro Menendez High School; Justin Andrilenas, Brandon Canaday, Eric Goodman, Megan Hinkle, Jessica Koros, Lucas Sanders, Daniel Schwartz, Alexander Short, Turner Street, Erin Wadhams and Lauren Wisniewski from Allen D. Nease High School; Elizabeth Bugbey, Brett Greene, Lily Norenberg, Rina Samant, Sonia Samant, Michael Seethaler, Emmanuel Stamatogiannakis from Ponte Vedra High School; and home-schooled student Christopher Battista.

All semifinalists will be recognized at the School Board meeting on Tuesday, October 14 at 6 p.m. in the School Board Administration Building auditorium at 40 Orange Street.