County Science Fair Winners

Adam Snowden, of Ponte Vedra High School (PVHS), won top honors as the Most Outstanding in the Senior Division of the 2014 St. Johns County Science Fair held last week at Sebastian Middle School. Adam’s winning project was “Creating a MicroController Based, Non-Invasive, Multi-Modal Photoplethysmographic Monitor.”

Harrison Snowden and Jordan Bartfield, both of Alice B. Landrum Middle School (LMS), tied for Most Outstanding in the Junior Division. Harrison’s project was entitled, “Adhesion in Superhydrophobic Coating to Reduce Medical Catheter Bacterial Adhesion in an ExVivo Model” and Jordan’s project was entitled “The Effect of Fingernail Length on Hand Hygiene in Healthcare Workers.”

Approximately 120 science projects represented by 135 participants were involved in the St. Johns County Science Fair. This annual academic competition is designed to challenge students to meticulously apply science process skills and content knowledge in order to investigate scientific questions of their own choosing. Participants also experience the importance of practicing science ethics and responsibility on a personal level. The most outstanding winners will be recognized at the School Board meeting on Tuesday, March 11.

Sixteen students representing five St. Johns County schools will attend the Florida State Science and Engineering Fair in Lakeland on April 8-10. The participants are Abhi Ahuja, PVHS; Zacharias Anastasiadis, Allen D. Nease High School (NHS); Jordan Bartfield, LMS; Monica Connelly, PVHS; Adam Domingoes, NHS; Wilson Erickson, PVHS; Elizabeth Fox, LMS; Liam Hoffecker, LMS; Anissa Mansouri, LMS; Lagan Mullin, PVHS; Megan Quinney, Cathedral Parish School (CPS); Hannah Savoldy, Fruit Cove Middle School (FCMS); Adam Snowden, PVHS; Harrison Snowden; LMS; Madison Toonder, CPS and Becky Volk, CPS. Freshman Adam Snowden has been chosen to attend the international science fair scheduled for May 11-16 in Los Angeles, CA.

Participation in the fair is open to St. Johns County public, private and home school students in grades 6-12. Marna Fox, program specialist for K-12 science, physical education and health, is the district science fair coordinator.


Behavioral: first — Wilson Erickson, PVHS; second — Aven Baik, PVHS; third — team of Katy Weber and Katarina Reznicsek, Bartram Trail High School

Chemistry/Medicine/Microbiology: first — Monica Connelly, PVHS; second — Lilia Tabassian, PVHS; third — Patrick Lynch, PVHS; honorable mention — Davis Massey, PVHS

Computer/Math: first (computer) — Abhi Ahuja, PVHS; second (computer) — Brighton Ancelin, Creekside High School (CHS); first (math) — team of Adam Domingoes and Zacharias Anastasiadis, NHS; second (math) — team of Rina Samant and Sonia Samant, PVHS

Engineering/Physics: first — Adam Snowden, PVHS; second — Maxwell Kline, St. Augustine High School (SAHS); third — Alexa Burch, PVHS; honorable mention — Erol Bahadiroglu, SAHS

Environmental: first — Lagan Mullin, PVHS; second — team of Luna Adamo and Robert Aspinwall, PVHS; third — Farrell Erickson, PVHS; honorable mention — Kacie Carter, NHS


Behavioral Sciences: first — Elizabeth Fox, LMS; second — Taylor Jaydn Kaminsky, LMS; third — Fabiana Dejuk, CPS; honorable mention — Amy Volk, CPS and Kenan Carames, CPS

Botany/Zoology: first — Anissa Mansouri, LMS; second — Daniela Rivera, Pacetti Bay Middle School (PBMS); third — Patrick McCormick, Palmer Catholic Academy (PCA); honorable mention — Jacob Mier, LMS

Chemistry: first — Liam Hoffecker, LMS; second — Zachary Graves, FCMS; third — Isabella Camero, FCMS; honorable mention — Avianna Gordon, LMS

Engineering/math: first — Hannah Savoldy, FCMS; second — Gabrielle Keller, PCA; third — Franco DaLuisio, Liberty Pines Academy (LPA); honorable mention — Daniela McCarty, Switzerland Point Middle School

Environmental/Earth: first — Madison Toonder, CPS; second — Madeleine Ross, FCMS; third — Nellie Crlenjak, Sebastian Middle School (SMS); honorable mention — Zuri Goodman, LMS

Medicine/Health/Microbiology: first (tie) — Jordan Bartfield and Harrison Snowden, both at LMS; second — Becky Volk, CPS; third — Ana Sophia Williams, SMS.

Physics: first — Megan Quinney, CPS; second (tie) — Chip Martin and Hayden Rowe, both at LPA; third — Jonathan Valyou, PBMS


U.S. Air Force: Maxwell Kline, SAHS; Adam Snowden, PVHS; team of Adam Domingoes and Zacharias Anastasiadis, NHS

American Society of Civil Engineers and Steven R. Weaver of Universal Engineering Services: Zuri Goodman, LMS (junior division) and Alexa Burch, PVHS (senior division)

St. Johns Medical Alliance: Jordan Bartfield, LMS (junior division) and Monica Connelly, PVHS (senior division)

Carlisle Interconnect Technologies: Adam Snowden, PVHS

Northrop Grumman: Madeleine Ross, FCMS (junior division), Joseph Sarci and Shivam P. Shah, both at PVHS (senior division)