National Merit Semifinalists

Twelve St. Johns County seniors have qualified as National Merit Semifinalists for 2014.

These students placed among the top 1 percent of all students in the country taking the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT)/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test given annually to high school juniors. As 12 of 16,000 semifinalists nationwide, they are now eligible to advance to the finalist competition to vie for 8,000 scholarships worth more than $35 million to be announced in April.

The semifinalists are Margaret May and Carsen Smith from Bartram Trail High School; Allison Davanzo, Hunter Hayes, and Connor Michalski from Creekside High School; Jesse Chen, Devon Crawford, Lilian Dove, Farina Khandadia, and Madison Stenzel from Allen D. Nease High School; Julia Sardinas from Ponte Vedra High School; Madeleine Schneider from St. Augustine High School.

The district also had one National Achievement Scholarship Semifinalist recognizing black students, Tristan Memory from NHS. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation recognizes the highest-scoring black students in each state who took the PSAT and National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as a junior in high school.

All semifinalists will be recognized at the School Board meeting on Tuesday, October 8 at 6 p.m. in the School Board Administration Building auditorium at 40 Orange Street.