Summer Operations 2013

The St. Johns County School District will implement operational strategies to save money during the upcoming summer months. These strategies helped produce an energy savings of more than $1,000,000 during the summer of 2012.

By restricting building operations in all district facilities during the summer, energy consumption at each site can be reduced. This will require centralization of summer activities in buildings where the lowest energy consumption will occur.

Beginning on Monday, June 10, the district will operate on a four-day workweek, 7:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m., Monday through Thursday, closed on Fridays. All facilities will function in an energy conservation mode Friday through Sunday. Summer activities will be designed within the Monday-Thursday workweek and will be completed by August 1. The district will return to the normal five-day workweek beginning on Monday, August 5.

All schools and district offices will be closed during the week of July 1-4 and will reopen on Monday, July 8.

Beginning on Monday, June 17, the district will operate from six high schools and one middle school serving as regional centers. St. Johns Technical High School will remain in its permanent location due to scheduled summer programs. All other facilities will function in an energy conservation mode. Maintenance managers and custodial staff will work at the schools in their region on a rotating basis.

Each regional high school will serve as the operations center for the schools that have been assigned to that site. School administrative teams will work in designated areas of each high school. Summer academic programs, camps and extended school year services will be planned, developed and communicated by each school and will operate at the regional high school sites. Staff will return to their regular sites on Monday, July 30.

Following are the assignments for each school:

Pedro Menendez High St. Augustine High Sebastian Middle Nease High Creekside High Bartram Trail High Ponte Vedra High
Gamble Rogers Evelyn Hamblen Murray Pacetti Bay Fruit Cove Switzerland Point Landrum
South Woods Ketterlinus Wards Creek Durbin Creek Liberty Pines PV/Rawlings
Hartley R. B. Hunt Mill Creek Julington Creek Timberlin Creek Ocean Palms
Mason Crookshank Palencia Cunningham Creek Hickory Creek
Osceola Webster


*St. Johns Virtual will be housed at St. Johns Technical High School.