School Board Annual Reorganization Meeting

On Tuesday, November 20, the St. Johns County School Board will hold its annual Reorganization meeting at 10 a.m. in the auditorium of the School Board Administrative Building located at 40 Orange Street.

Two school board members will be sworn in, including new member Patrick Canan. Mr. Canan, elected in the primary election in August representing District 5, replaces Carla Wright who retired earlier this month. Re-elected in District 2 is Tommy Allen, retaining the seat he has held since 1996. Mr. Allen also served as the school board member for District 2 from 1984-1992.

The other board members are Beverly Slough, District 1; Bill Mignon, District 3 and Bill Fehling, District 4.

Patrick Canan has been a resident of St. Johns County since 1990. He and his wife have three children, who attend or have attended St. Johns County Schools.

Mr. Canan earned his bachelor’s and Juris Doctorate degrees from the University of Florida. He is a former Assistant Public Defender in Alachua and Monroe Counties and Assistant State Attorney/Division Chief in St. Johns County. Canan is the founder and President of Patrick T. Canan P.A., a litigation firm located in St. Augustine. He also is a former adjunct professor at Flagler College.

Following the swearing in, the floor will be open for nominations for the 2012-2013 Board Chair and Vice Chair. The agenda includes setting the board and workshop meeting schedules through November 2013, the appointment of board members to several committee assignments or liaison positions as well as a review of the Standing Rules, Standards and Ethics and approval of the use of facsimile signatures. There will be time for public comment before adjourning.

The annual meeting of the School Board Leasing Corporation will immediately follow the Reorganization Meeting.

The meeting agendas and additional information about the School Board can be found on the St. Johns County School District website at