FSBA President’s Award

St. Johns County School Board Chair Beverly Slough was the recipient of the President’s Award at the Florida School Board Association’s (FSBA) conference held in Tampa recently. The President’s Award is the most prestigious award given by FSBA annually to an individual or a group that has made a significant impact on public education.

Slough received this award from FSBA President Lee Swift during the conference for her work in advancing and culminating parent groups and networks including 50th No More and Fund Education Now.

“These parent organizations are instrumental in assisting FSBA to ensure that our voice is heard,” said Lee Swift, FSBA president. “I am truly grateful for Bev and her leadership to ensure that the public is kept in public education.”

Slough represents district one on the school board and was first elected in 2002. She is an active advocate for excellence in education throughout the state. Her passion is focused on a quality education for every child in St. Johns County and she has extended that passion to all children in Florida through her service to FSBA.