Summer Operations

The St. Johns County School District will implement the following operational strategies to save money during the upcoming summer months. These strategies helped produce energy savings of more than $850,000 during the summer of 2011.

Four-Day Work Week
Beginning on Monday, June 11, the school district will operate a four-day workweek, Monday through Thursday. All facilities will function in an energy conservation mode Friday through Sunday. Summer activities will be designed within the Monday-Thursday workweek and will be completed by Thursday, August 2. The district will return to the normal five-day workweek beginning on Monday, August 6.

One-Week Shut Down
All schools and district offices will be closed during the week of July 16-19 and will reopen on Monday, July 23.

School Consolidation
Beginning on Monday, June 18, the school district will operate from six high schools and one middle school serving as regional centers. St. Johns Technical High School will remain in its permanent location due to scheduled summer programs. All other facilities will function in an energy conservation mode during the time the facility is being cleaned and prepared for the new school year.

Each regional high school will serve as the operation center for the schools that have been assigned to that site. School administrative teams will work in designated areas of the high school. Maintenance managers and custodial staff will work at the schools in their region on a rotating basis. District communication with school staff will be done at the regional site for that school.

Summer academic programs, camps and extended school year services will be planned, developed and communicated by each school. Camps and other activities will operate at the regional high school and will be coordinated by administrators at all schools in the region. Staff will return to their regular site on Monday, July 30.

Following are the assignments for each school:

Menendez High St. Augustine High Sebastian Middle Nease High Creekside High Bartram Trail High Ponte Vedra High
Gamble Rogers Evelyn Hamblen Murray Pacetti Bay Fruit Cove Switzerland Point Landrum
South Woods Ketterlinus Wards Creek Durbin Creek Liberty Pines PV/PVRawlings
Hartley R. B. Hunt Mill Creek Julington Creek Timberlin Creek Ocean Palms
Mason Crookshank Cunningham Creek Hickory Creek
Osceola Webster

Restrictive Building Operations
By restricting building operations in all district facilities during the summer, energy consumption at each site can be reduced.  This will require centralization of summer activities in buildings where the lowest energy consumption will occur.