Liberty Pines Academy Power-Library

The St. Johns County School District recently received one of the state’s eight 2011 Florida Power-Library Schools (FPLS) awards. The school being recognized is Liberty Pines Academy (LPA).
This statewide recognition is awarded to schools that involve their school faculty members, parents and students in developing and implementing outstanding library media programs focused on student achievement.
Liberty Pines Academy, the district’s only K-8 school, joins the three other St. Johns County schools that received the FPLS award, Timberlin Creek Elementary School and Ponte Vedra High School in 2009, and Wards Creek Elementary School in 2010.  There are currently only 46 schools in the state which have been awarded this recognition after undergoing a rigorous review process.
Based on the FPLS reviewers’ evaluations, the winning schools’ library media programs received excellent scores in the following components: Instruction, Curriculum/Assessment, Resource Management, Program Administration, Environment and Advocacy.
The FPLS award is valid for a period of three years. During that time, the schools have agreed to mentor other schools from around the state in their quest to develop quality library media programs.
The FPLS award is sponsored by the Florida Association of Supervisors of Media (FASM) in collaboration with the Florida Association of Media in Education (FAME) and the Florida Department of Education. The Florida Power-Library Program is based on the Colorado Power Libraries Program that highlights schools with a collaborative approach to improving student achievement.
LPA will receive a banner, and Principal Randy Kelley and School Librarian Melanie Tahan will receive lapel pins in recognition of their success. LPA will be honored at the School Board meeting on September 13 at 6 p.m. The formal presentation of the FPLS award will be made at the Opening General Session of the FAME Conference on Thursday, October 6 in Orlando.