Volunteers of the Year

 Three individuals were honored as St. Johns County’s 2010-2011 Outstanding Volunteers of the Year at the Fourth Annual Volunteer Recognition Reception held recently at First Coast Technical College.  They were also recognized at the School Board meeting held last evening.
Mary Allison Cook, this year’s Outstanding Senior Volunteer, came to Crookshank Elementary School (CES) more than five years ago when her granddaughter was in third grade. She also recruited her 88-year-old mother to volunteer with her, and her daughter is one of the district’s Instructional Literacy Coaches. Ms. Cook assists young students in becoming independent, creative writers through Writing Workshop and has a waiting list of students requesting her help.  
Mrs. M. J. Roy, a volunteer at Timberlin Creek Elementary School (TCES), received the 2010-2011 Outstanding Adult Volunteer designation.  She has served as a homeroom parent, “Meet the Artist” parent, carnival parent, yearbook parent and school cafeteria volunteer.  This outstanding volunteer also initiated the “Going Green” project at TCES. Mrs. Roy teaches French to second graders and has gone to the local high school to help students speak French more fluently.  
Abbey Mason was selected as the district’s Outstanding Youth Volunteer for this year.  She has displayed consistent care for children over many years and continues to be actively involved in service while attending college. While attending Creekside High School (CHS) she was instrumental in working with movie nights and other projects at CES. Abbey feels that volunteers were influential in helping her to do well, and she gave back to students by providing instructional reading assistance through caring, personal relationships.  
This year awards were also given to runners-up in each category. In the Youth Category, Emily Bennett of Rogers Middle School, Chris Rardon of St. Johns Technical High School, Connor Rhine of Pacetti Bay Middle School and Jacob Sambursky of CHS were recognized for their volunteer efforts.  
Runners-up in the Adult Category included Angie Conlan of Durbin Creek Elementary School, Amelia Hutcherson of St. Augustine High School, Lisa Lloyd of Ketterlinus Elementary School, Kerri Murphy of Fruit Cove Middle School and Brette Reiman of The Webster School.
In the Senior Category, Louis Thomas Collins of CHS, Debbie Dunn of Osceola Elementary School and Jennie Veal of PVPV-Rawlings Elementary School were honored for their efforts.  
In addition to the announcement of these outstanding volunteers, the School Volunteer Coordinators were also recognized. The 106 individuals honored at this event were just a few of the 9,702 volunteers who contributed more than 261,902 hours of service to the public schools during the past year. Cheryl Freeman serves as the Volunteer Coordinator for the school district. .