Administrative Changes

  Superintendent Joseph Joyner has announced several administrative changes effective July 1.
The upcoming retirements of several key administrators, along with the desire to better utilize individual talents and leadership skills, have necessitated these moves.   Dawn Sapp, Assistant Principal at St. Augustine High School (SAHS) for the past six years, has been named the new principal of Bartram Trail High School (BTHS). She succeeds Brennan Asplen, who will become Executive Director of Human Resources upon the retirement of Jim Springfield. Ms. Sapp has worked for the school district since 1991 and served as the Registrar and Assistant Principal of the Ninth Grade Academy at BTHS.
Wayne King, Principal at Landrum Middle School (LMS) for the past four years, will become the new principal of St. Johns Technical High School (SJTHS). He has 14 years experience in the school district as a teacher and administrator at the Gaines Alternative Center, the Evelyn Hamblen Center, SJTHS and Switzerland Point Middle School.
Emily Harrison, Assistant Principal at Fruit Cove Middle School since 2006, will become the new principal of LMS.  She also worked as a gifted teacher at Cunningham Creek Elementary School for one year and has six years of elementary school teaching experience. Ms. Harrison is Florida’s 2010-2011 Outstanding Assistant Principal of the Year.
Joy Taylor will move from SJTHS to Hartley Elementary School to replace retiring Principal Mary Seymour. Ms. Taylor was a teacher at Hastings High School and Ketterlinus Middle School before being transferred to administrative positions at Switzerland Point Middle School, SAHS, Ketterlinus Elementary School and SJTHS.
Other principal retirements have resulted in additional staff transfers. Kim Dixon, Assistant Principal at Murray Middle School (MMS), will replace Theresa Grady as principal at Mason Elementary School (MES). Ms. Dixon was selected as the 2002-2003 District Teacher of the Year when she taught at Hastings Elementary School and has been an Assistant Principal at MMS for the past six years.
Sandra McMandon, Assistant Principal at MES since 2006, will take retiring principal Dr. Patricia Falaney’s place at Durbin Creek Elementary School. A product of St. Johns County Schools, Ms. McMandon has been employed by the district since 1993. She taught at both Julington Creek and Cunningham Creek Elementary Schools (CCES) and also served as an Assistant Principal at South Woods Elementary School and Rogers Middle School.
Betsy Wierda, Director of Professional Development for the past year, will succeed Mike Parrish as principal at Ocean Palms Elementary School. Prior to taking a district position, Ms. Wierda spent five years as principal at CCES.
“I am very excited about our new slate of principals,” said Dr. Joyner. “All of these educators are outstanding instructional leaders and are committed to the importance of high quality teachers.  I was also very pleased to see such a strong group of local candidates, which is a testament to our leadership development program. Most importantly, these educators all possess strength of character, which will serve the children of our district for many years to come.”