STAR Banquet

Triplett-Godfrey   4272011_33859_3.jpgBuchanan-Cullu    Seventy-one of St. Johns County Schools’ best and brightest were honored at the Sixteenth Annual STAR (Students Taking Academic Responsibility) Awards Banquet held Monday at World Golf Village.

The STAR Awards recognize the top three percent of all graduating seniors in the county. Eleven students from Bartram Trail High School, one from Beacon of Hope Christian School, nine from Creekside High School, ten from Pedro Menendez High School (PMHS), eleven from Nease High School, nine from Ponte Vedra High School (PVHS), sixteen from St. Augustine High School (SAHS), and four from St. Joseph Academy received commendation for their outstanding academic performance.
During the recognition ceremony principals introduced each student and then a special teacher selected by the student. The STAR students shared their future plans and why they selected the teacher they chose to honor. In addition to making top grades, these students are involved in athletics, performing groups, school clubs and community service.   
Several teachers were selected by more than one student, including, Glenn Cole of Switzerland Point Middle School, Gail Cullum of SAHS and Martin Hillier of PVHS. Cindy Morrison, a language arts teacher at PMHS, has been selected every year but one since the first STAR event was held.
The STAR students selected by each school are as follows:
Bartram Trail High School – Amanda Alexander, Lindsey Baroch, Hayley Cooper, Lesleigh Craddock, Elizabeth Crowe, Ashton Dumdei, Cassidy Langford, James Mancino, Katherine Modaff, Emily Shuman and Taylor Smith
Beacon of Hope Christian School – Taylor Renee Mihalich
Creekside High School – Paymon Abtahi, Julianna Betbeze, Megan Bookstaver, Kathryn Brewer, Nicolas Lara, Marshall Malone, Sabine Mosal, Kimberly Triplett and Nikki Weiss
Pedro Menendez High School – Emily Bauer, Courtney Calderon, Elysa Campelo, Lauren Croft, Taylor Duren, Christopher Hankins, Troy Jordana, Monica Misiak, Gabriella Samuels and Erik Spilling
Nease High School – Brian Bell, Emma Domingoes, Nikki Etchenique, Eliona Jankulla, Courtney Ligon, Jessica MacWilkinson, Katherine McLeod, Karah Mechlowitz, Alex Mosher, Meredith Robinson and Bradley Roche
Ponte Vedra High School – Caitlin Eastland, Ryan Gammon, Lydia Lichlyter, Douglas Meadow, Patrick O’Hara, Michael Power, William Russell, Allison Santillo and Daria Smith
St. Augustine High School – Beatriz Alamo, Paul Baran, Janna Bond, Erin Brownett, Amy Buchanan, Daniel Canova, Sophie Clingan-Darack, Emily Dupree, Stephanie Fitzsimmons, Hunter Green, Samantha Gresham, Shannon Healey, Ashley Lane, Alexandra Leslie, Pratik Patel and Brandi Radaker
St. Joseph Academy – Wesley Davis, Janelle de la Torre, Katherine Foley and Emily Kelbert
Kirk Wendland, President of the St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce, served as emcee. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Joseph Joyner and School Board Members were also in attendance.
The annual event was sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce in partnership with Cady & Cady Studios, Kuhn Florist, the St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum, the St. Johns County Education Foundation, the St. Augustine Sunrise Rotary Club and VIP Presentation Products.