MINUTES Reorganization Meeting of the St. Johns County School Board November 18, 2014

This meeting, held at the St. Johns County School Board Administrative Center, 40 Orange Street, St. Augustine, Florida, was called to order at 6:01 p.m. by Superintendent Joseph G. Joyner. Dr. Joseph Joyner called roll; Mrs. Bev Slough, Mr. Tommy Allen, Mr. Bill Mignon, Mr. Patrick Canan and Mrs. Kelly Barrera were present. Also in attendance were School Board Attorney Frank D. Upchurch, III, district staff, and media representatives.

Dr. Joyner introduced Judge Michael Traynor and asked him to come forward to administer the Oath of Office to re-elected School Board Member, District 1, Mrs. Beverly Slough. Dr. Joyner then introduced Judge John Alexander and asked him to come forward to administer the Oath of Office to re-elected School Board Member, District 3, Mr. Bill Mignon and newly elected School Board Member, District 4, Mrs. Kelly Barrera.

Dr. Joyner explained that this reorganization meeting, required by Florida Statute, calls for the Board's election of a new Chair and Vice Chair, and also sets their regular meeting dates. He further explained that, as District Superintendent, he would act as Ex-officio Chairman until the new chair was chosen.

Superintendent Joyner opened the floor for nominations for Chairman of the St. Johns County School Board for 2014-2015. Mr. Allen nominated Mrs. Slough; Mr. Canan seconded this motion. Dr. Joyner closed nominations, and then called for a vote. Vote was unanimous, and Beverly Slough was declared Chairman for the 2014-2015 term.

Dr. Joyner then opened the floor for nominations for Vice Chairman for the St. Johns County School Board for 2014-2015. Mrs. Slough nominated Mr. Canan; Mr. Mignon seconded it. Dr. Joyner then closed the nominations and called for a vote. All members voted "aye". Patrick Canan was declared Vice Chairman for the 2014-2015 term.

Dr. Joyner presented a plaque to the outgoing Chair, Mr. Mignon; this was followed by brief remarks of appreciation and congratulations. The gavel was then passed to the new School Board Chairman, Mrs. Slough.

Chairman Slough opened discussion to establish the Regular Board Meeting schedule. Mr. Allen motioned to maintain the Regular Board Meetings on the second Tuesday of each month at 9:00 a.m. (unless time needs to be adjusted in advance to accommodate students, parents and staff) in the Auditorium of the Administrative Center, 40 Orange Street; Mr. Mignon seconded this motion. The vote was 5-0.

Mrs. Slough then opened discussion to establish the Board's workshop schedule. Mr. Mignon motioned to continue to hold Board Workshops on the first and fourth Tuesdays of each month at

8:30 a.m. in the Superintendent's Conference Room unless noted. This was seconded by Mr Canan. All members voted "aye".

Chairman Slough opened discussion to appoint a Legislative Liaison. Mr. Canan motioned to nominate Mrs. Slough to remain as Legislative Liaison; seconded by Mr. Allen. Vote was 5-0.

Mrs. Slough opened discussion to appoint an Alternate Legislative Liaison. Mr. Allen nominated Mr. Mignon as Alternate Legislative Liaison. Mrs. Slough nominated Mr. Canan as Alternate Legislative Liaison; Mrs. Barrera seconded the motion to appoint Mr. Canan as Alternate Legislative Liaison. The vote was 3/2 for Mr. Canan.

Chairman Slough opened discussion to appoint a FSBIT Liaison. Mr. Canan motioned to nominate Mrs. Slough as the FSBIT Liaison; seconded by Mr. Allen. Vote was 5-0.

Chairman Slough opened discussion to appoint a Alternate FSBIT Liaison. Mrs. Barrera motioned to nominate Mr. Mignon as the Alternate FSBIT Liaison; seconded by Mr. Allen. Vote was 5-0.

Mrs. Slough opened discussion to appoint other Committee Assignments. Mr. Canan motioned to approve committee assignments; seconded by Mr. Allen. Vote was 5-0.

Mrs. Slough opened discussion to approve the use of facsimile signatures. Mr. Mignon motioned to approve; seconded by Mr. Allen. The vote was unanimous.

Mrs. Slough opened the floor for any public comments.

1. Tom Reynolds, 980 A1A Beach Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080 T \\A\div \hat{A}\poke on various topics.

After brief closing comments, the meeting was adjourned at 6:21 p.m.

Names and Addresses of St. Johns County School Board Members (as of 11-18-14)

Beverly A. Slough 341 West Adelaide Drive St. Johns, FL 32259

Thomas L. Allen, Jr. 2500 Cabbage Hammock Road St. Augustine, FL 32092

William Mignon 723 Camelia Trail St. Augustine, FL 32086

Kelly Barrera 101 Greencrest Dr. Ponte Vedra, FL 32082

Patrick Canan 911 Lew Blvd. St. Augustine, FL 32080

	_	
Superintendent		Chairman
	Date Approved	_