2016 National Merit Semifinalists

Eighteen St. Johns County seniors have qualified as National Merit Semifinalists for 2016.

These students placed among the top 1 percent of all students in the country taking the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT)/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test given annually to high school juniors. As 18 of approximately 16,000 semifinalists nationwide, they are now eligible to advance to the finalist competition to vie for 7,400 scholarships worth more than $32 million.

The semifinalists are Evan Armstrong and David Damiani from Bartram Trail High School; Rowan Blalock-Bassett, Samantha Hayes, and Noah Kathe from Creekside High School; Noah Ari, Sanjana Bhargava, Patrick Farrar, Alexander Jasper, Divya Mahesh; Abigail Prohofsky and Samuel Still from Allen D. Nease High School; Wilson Erickson; Yooree Ha; Meijia Li; John Richter and Cullen Smith from Ponte Vedra High School; Michael Whittaker from St. Augustine High School.

All semifinalists will be recognized at the School Board meeting on Tuesday, October 13 at 6 p.m. in the School Board Administration Building auditorium at 40 Orange Street.