2013 History Fair Winners

Ava Hampton of Fruit Cove Middle School won top honors in the inaugural St. Johns County School District’s (SJCSD) History Fair. Her project, entitled Seneca Falls Conference, was awarded the Overall Most Outstanding Project and she was presented with a check for $100 from the St. Augustine Historical Society.

Over 200 students participated at the school level. Forty-five history projects represented by 75 participants competed in the SJCSD History Fair. The overall winner will be recognized at the School Board Meeting on Wednesday, April 10.

Participating schools included Fruit Cove Middle School (FCMS), Landrum Middle School (LMS), Switzerland Point Middle School (SPMS), Bartram Trail High School (BTHS) and Creekside High School (CHS).

The inaugural SJCSD History Fair projects were on display at Bartram Trail High School which also hosted the awards ceremony. The history fair was a culmination of the efforts of the SJCSD and teacher sponsors including Teresa McCormick, FCMS; Richard Billette, LMS; Dorothy Anagnostou, SPMS; Jacob Teuscher, BTHS; Richard Marabell and Joseph Herskovitz, CHS. Travis Brown, SJCSD secondary social studies program specialist, coordinated the history fair.

The History Fair received outstanding support from the St. Johns County historical community. The judges for the fair represented organizations including The St. Augustine Historical Society, The St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum, the University of Florida, the St. Augustine Maritime Heritage Foundation, Fort Mose Historic State Park, Brockington and Associates, the St. Augustine 450th Commemoration, Castillo de San Marcos, and the Colonial Dames of St. Augustine. Prize money was generously provided from the following supporters: St. Augustine Maritime Heritage Foundation, Brockington and Associates, Publix Supermarket Charities, Chipotle Mexican Grill, RPM Automotive, the St. Augustine 450th Commemoration, and the St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum.

The category winners are listed below.



Junior Division 1st Place- Harrison Do, FCMS 2nd Place- Brian Mahon, LMS 3rd Place- Katie Pakenham, LMS

Senior Division No entries


Junior Division 1st Place- Danielle Haddock, FCMS 2nd Place- Samuel Werner, LMS 3rd Place- Isabelle Amacker, SPMS

Senior Division 1st Place-Amanda Rorabaugh, BTHS 2nd Place- Jacob Allen, BTHS 3rd Place- Maxwell Kline, SAHS


Junior Division 1st Place-Easton Pillay and Cade Bedell, SPMS 2nd Place-Jake Glass and Ethan Griner, SPMS 3rd Place- Abigail Lanza and Caroline Schwalbe, LMS

Senior Division 1st Place-Jesse Burkett, Liam Leahy, Evan Rodriguez, Geoff Watson, and Cody Gan, BTHS


Junior Division 1st Place-Ava Hampton, FCMS 2nd Place- Megan Wolf, FCMS 3rd Place- Jacob Lough, FCMS

Senior Division 1st Place-Anna Thompson, CHS 2nd Place-Emily Xanders, CHS 3rd Place-Jeffrey Reyes, CHS


Junior Division 1st Place- (tie) Harrison Snowden, Matthew Gibson and Felipe Hanel, LMS and Christiana Lovell, Megan Radney and Sophia Sberna, FCMS 3rd Place- Makayla Taylor and Christopher James, LMS

Senior Division 1st Place-Niecea Pauley, Jessica Price and Juliana Rocha, CHS 2nd Place- Alexis Daniels, Paige Daniels, Monica Maldonado, and Catherine Kinkead, CHS 3rd Place-Connor Merritt, River “Cross” Blocker, and Ashton Wade, CHS


Junior Division 1st Place- Zuri Goodman, Isabelle Jacobi, Bailey Pattison and Madelyn Wells, LMS 2nd Place-Kerin Karolewicz, Alexis Muir and Sophie Newman, LMS

DOCUMENTARY Junior Division 1st Place- Josephine Teat and Emile Therrien, FCMS 2nd Place-Anna Swan and Rachel Walton, LMS

In addition to the winners above, several special awards were presented and are listed below.

Originality-provided by the St. Augustine Maritime Heritage Foundation Isabelle Amacker-SPMS

Technology-provided by Brockington and Associates Jesse Burkett, Liam Leahy, Evan Rodriguez, Geoff Watson, and Cody Gan, BTHS

Agricultural Impact-provided by Publix Supermarket Charities Kaitlin Landolfa, LMS

Creativity-provided by Chipolte Mexican Grill Madison Donnelly, FCMS

Project Design-provided by RPM Nicole Sowell, SPMS

Research-provided by St. Augustine 450th Commemoration Commission Deven Malone, LMS

Vision-provided by the St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum Zuri Goodman, Isabelle Jacobi, Bailey Pattison, and Madelyn Wells, LMS

Fourteen students representing the four participating schools were selected to compete in the State History Fair scheduled for May 5-6 in Tallahassee. History Fair Director Travis Brown is coordinating the trip. The participants are Ava Hampton, FCMS; Christiana Lovell, Megan Radney and Sophia Sberna, FCMS; Harrison Snowden, Matthew Gibson and Felipe Hanel, LMS; Megan Wolf, FCMS; Amanda Rorabaugh, BTHS; Easton Pillay and Cade Bedell, SPMS; Danielle Haddock, FCMS; Harrison Do, FCMS; and Samuel Werner, LMS.

The SJCSD History Fair is produced in conjunction with the National History Fair sponsored by National History Day. The project-based learning that is emphasized by the History Fair provides an excellent opportunity for students to showcase college and career readiness skills including research, writing, speaking and creative thinking while embracing history.