The St. Johns County School District will hold pre-registration for children entering kindergarten and students new to St. Johns County and/or public schools on Wednesday, February 6 from 9 a.m.-1 p.m.; Wednesday, March 6 from 1-6 p.m.; Wednesday, April 3 from 9 a.m.-1 p.m.; and Wednesday, May 1 from 1-6 p.m.
To be eligible for public kindergarten in St. Johns County, children must be 5 years old on or before September 1 and must reside in St. Johns County. To register for first grade, children must be 6 years old on or before September 1 and have documentation of successful completion of kindergarten.
Parents must register children at the school where they are zoned for the 2013-2014 school year. Three proofs of residency must be provided such as a current mortgage statement, lease or rent agreement and two other forms of residency documentation such as a current electric bill, car registration and/or driver’s license. Additional information on residency and guardianship as well as a link to the Attendance Zone Locator can be found on the website at www.stjohns.k12.fl.us under “Featured Links.”
Florida law requires any student entering a Florida school for the first time to show proof of required immunizations documented on the HRS Form 680. Proof of a physical examination that has been obtained within one year prior to enrollment in school is also required. Physical examinations can be performed by either a private physician or by the county health department.
Students can be registered during the spring and summer for the 2013-2014 school year, however; parents are encouraged to register during the designated dates above so that schools can adequately prepare for the new school year. Additional information regarding registration and school attendance zones may be obtained from the Student Services Office at 547-7598.