Currently browsing

September 2012

Pacetti Bay Middle School Named IB World School

The St. Johns County School District (SJCSD) announced that Pacetti Bay Middle School (PBMS) has been named an International Baccalaureate (IB) World School by the International Baccalaureate Organization. The school has earned official authorization to offer the Middle Years Programme (IBMYP) for all students.

“I am extremely proud of the forethought and effort that Principal Sue Sparkman and the PBMS teachers, support staff, students and parents put into achieving this outstanding accomplishment,” said Superintendent Dr. Joseph Joyner. “By continuing to foster critical thinking and rigorous academic standards, our students will be better prepared both for high school and life beyond the K-12 school system.”

IB programs, often considered the Gold Standard of academic programing, are helping students to be competitive in the global marketplace. The values and beliefs of the SJCSD and PBMS are consistent with the IBMYP learner profile which encourages students to be inquirers, knowledgeable, thinkers, communicators, principled, open-minded, caring, risk-takers, balanced, and reflective. In addition, students are taught to act locally with a commitment to the community and to be internationally minded in regard to issues that have no borders.

“This is a tremendous honor for our students, faculty and community,” said Principal Sue Sparkman. “The IBMYP represents the innovation, collaboration, and high standards that have been a foundation for PBMS.”

Melissa Lime who served as IB coordinator during the authorization process states, “I could not be prouder of the dedication on the part of the outstanding staff of PBMS. I am honored to have been a part of this life-changing process.”

The Middle Years Programme (MYP) is unique because it focuses on each subject area through the five areas of interaction: Environment, Health and Social Education, Community and Service, Human Ingenuity, and Approaches to Learning. These five areas of interaction support active learning through interdisciplinary units that help students engage in critical thinking and reflection.

“My students love communicating with other students from around the world using Skype and Epals to promote perspective and understanding,” commented St. Johns County Teacher of the Year and faculty member Emily Senko.

Learning Legacy Lifetime Achievement Awards

Mrs. Hattie Jenkins and The Honorable Clyde Wolfe have been selected as the recipients of the 2012 Learning Legacy Lifetime Achievement Awards.

These awards are presented annually to former St. Johns County public school students who have returned to the area and dedicated their time and talents to serving their community. A presentation will be made to Mrs. Jenkins and Judge Wolfe by Superintendent Dr. Joseph Joyner on Friday, September 14 at 6:30 p.m. before the football game between St. Augustine and Nease high schools.

Mrs. Jenkins was born in St. Augustine and graduated from Excelsior High School in 1949, where she played basketball. She attended Florida Memorial College and earned a bachelor’s degree in physical and elementary education. She went on to teach physical education at St. Augustine High School (SAHS) for 26 years, retiring in 1991.

Mrs. Jenkins served on the board of directors for the American Cancer Society (ACS) and was a Relay for Life team captain for many years. In 2003, she was voted as top volunteer of the year for ACS and was one of the top individual fundraisers for the 2004 Relay for Life, raising more than $4,000. She was also involved with the Retired Teachers Association and served on the board and advised clients for Habitat for Humanity.

She and her husband, Clyde, have been married over 60 years and upon celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary in November 2000, they requested that family and friends make donations to the Clyde and Hattie Jenkins Scholarship Fund in lieu of gifts.  The scholarship was awarded in 2001 to Ebony Cohen with the intent of assisting in tuition, books and housing for her college years.

Mrs. Jenkins is the aunt of Otis and Myrtis Mason. Mr. Mason served as superintendent of the St. Johns County School District from 1984 to 1992, and Mrs. Mason was a teacher within the district. Having no children, Mrs. Jenkins has touted the Masons’ daughters, Pamela and Deidre as her “two girls.”

Judge Wolfe graduated from St. Augustine High School in 1971 where he played football.  He earned his bachelor’s degree from the University of Florida and went on to receive a juris doctor from Stetson University. In college he became a member and officer in Delta Upsilon Fraternity and was elected to Florida Blue Key Leadership Honorary.

Before becoming a judge, he was a general magistrate and child support enforcement hearing officer for the Seventh Judicial Circuit.  He was elected to the bench in 2006 and currently presides over the St. Johns County Juvenile Drug Court.  

His service to the community has been steadfast. He was a member of the SAHS Advisory Council for seven years, and served as president of the SAHS Band Boosters. His service on the EPIC board included two terms as president. He also served on the St. Johns Agricultural Extension Advisory Board and the 4-H Advisory Board and was the Boy Scout Master for Troop 330. While serving as a Circuit Judge he has been an active member of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges and a founding member of its Florida Chapter. Judge Wolfe has also served on statewide committees to establish standards for Supervised Visitation Centers. In addition, he has taught Delinquency Law at New Judge’s College and is a team leader of the juvenile section at the college.

Judge Wolfe and his wife, Phyllis, have two children, Michael and Kathleen. Mrs. Wolfe is a retired teacher and their children are both graduates of SAHS.

Past recipients of the Learning Legacy Lifetime Achievement Award are former Superintendent of Schools Otis Mason, the late Judge Richard Watson, former Pedro Menendez High School (PMHS) Principal and School Board member Bill Mignon, Florida School for the Deaf and Blind teacher-coach Hank White, the late Sheriff Neil Perry, former basketball coach Doris Blackshear, former Representative Doug Wiles, former PMHS football coach Dwaine Fisher, School Board Member Tommy Allen, PMHS Assistant Principal Cynthia Williams, Deputy Superintendent for Academic Services Martha Mickler, CPA Brad Davis, former SAHS Principal Tyrone Ramsey, former Chamber of Commerce President Robin Burchfield, retired Barnett Bank President Bill Young, former St. Johns County Tobacco Prevention Coordinator Nancy Birchall, Nease High School Dean of Students Kelvin “Bernie” Blue, SAHS Yellow Jackets broadcaster Barry Kass, author and board of trustees member for the St. Augustine Historical Society Beth Rogero Bowen, former Alternative Schools Teacher of the Year Rocky Merrill, retired banking executive John W. Daniels and Terrell Hogan attorney Wayne Hogan.

All recipients’ names are inscribed on a perpetual plaque that hangs outside the Superintendent’s Office.