The St. Johns County School District will hold pre-registration for children entering kindergarten and students new to St. Johns County and/or public schools from 9 a.m. to noon on Wednesday, February 22, Tuesday, March 20 and Thursday, April 12.
To be eligible for public kindergarten in St. Johns County, children must be 5 years old on or before September 1 and must reside in St. Johns County. To register for first grade, children must be 6 years old on or before September 1 and have documentation of successful completion of kindergarten.
Parents must register children at the school where they are zoned for the 2012-2013 school year. If zoned for Elementary “L” parents should plan to register children at the Palencia Amenity Center from 9 a.m.-4 p.m. on the dates listed above. Two proofs of residency must be provided such as a current mortgage statement, lease or rent agreement and one other form of residency documentation, such as a current electric bill.
An attendance zone locator is available on the school district website at http://www.stjohns.k12.fl.us under Featured Links.
Florida law requires any student entering a Florida school for the first time to show proof of required immunizations documented on the HRS Form 680. Proof of a physical examination that has been obtained within one year prior to enrollment in school is also required. Physical examinations can be performed by either a private physician or by the county health department.
Students can be registered during the spring and summer for the 2012-2013 school year, however parents are encouraged to register during the three designated dates above so that schools can adequately prepare for the new school year. Additional information regarding registration and school attendance zones may be obtained from the Student Services Office at 547-7598.