STAR Banquet

532010_93243_0.jpg   Falon Dominguez of Bartram Trail High School
532010_93306_1.jpg   Cole McCarty of Pedro Menendez High School
532010_93322_2.jpg   Lexie Cegelski of Nease High School

Sixty-seven of St. Johns County Schools’ best and brightest were honored at the Fifteenth Annual STAR (Students Taking Academic Responsibility) Awards Banquet held Monday at World Golf Village.
The STAR Awards recognize the top three percent of all graduating seniors in the county. Eleven students from Bartram Trail High School, nine from Creekside High School, twelve from Pedro Menendez High School, nine from Nease High School, eight from Ponte Vedra High School, fourteen from St. Augustine High School, and four from St. Joseph Academy received commendation for their outstanding academic performance.
During the recognition ceremony principals introduced each student and then a special teacher selected by the student. The STAR students shared their future plans and why they selected the teacher they chose to honor. In addition to making top grades, these students are involved in athletics, performing groups, school clubs and community service.   
One STAR teacher, Brian Braddock who currently teaches science and statistics at St. Augustine High School (SAHS), was also honored eleven years ago as a STAR student from SAHS.
“In 1991 I was fortunate enough to be a STAR student, and Terry Sapp was the teacher/coach I invited to the banquet,” said Mr. Braddock. “He and Jeff Holt, a social studies teacher I had at Murray Middle School, are big reasons why I wanted to be a teacher.”
The STAR students selected by each school are as follows:
Bartram Trail High School – Erin Banister, Sean Daugherty, Falon Dominguez, Hilary Frandsen, Marshall Johnson, Cassidy Kallner, Trevor Knowles, Gianna Morelli, Corissa Premo, Ryan Saunders and Tyler Shine
Creekside High School – Grace Bacon, Eric Beilefeldt, Zachary Lowe, Adrian Martinez, Katherine Mott, Stephen Peters, Stephen Rabon, Sarah Thompson and Matthew Walsh
Pedro Menendez High School – Rabia Ali, Aureen Arellano, Cara-Lynn Darling, Thomas Dotson, Derek Droege, Taryn Greene, Alexander Litvintchouk, Caitlin Luedke, Cole McCarty, Saeid Mirzai, Caroline Palm and Rebekka Wilson
Nease High School – Lexie Cegelski, Zachary Chizmar, Hanney Conor, Lauren Donnangelo, Nicholas Hosseini, Catherine Li, Utkarsh Pandey, Ekaterina Prosvirkina and Kristie Yang
Ponte Vedra High School – Jessica Friedes, Amore Kotze, Marykate Lavell, Reesa Lendry, Amanda Santillo, Carolyn Scott, Ainsley Shreve and Ansley Vanover
St. Augustine High School – Matthew Chiaverini, Maria Garcia Narvaez, Chelsea Gresham, Alexis Kubart, Joshua Morton, Savannah Morton, Anita Patel, Brooke Radaker, Neha Shrestha, Jaimie Thomas, Yannick Trapman-O’Brien, Berkeley VanDyke, Caley Wells and Liam White
St. Joseph Academy – Marguerite Devereux, Alexandra George, Jameson Kuang and Gabriella Massoglia
John Birney, Vice President of Investments for First Coast Financial Advisors, served as emcee. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Joseph Joyner and School Board Members were also in attendance.
Savings bonds were presented to a senior at each school. They were donated by Bank of America, Bank of St. Augustine, Community First Credit Union, Mercantile Bank, Off the Grid Charters, Prosperity Bank and Regions Bank.
The annual event was sponsored by the St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce in partnership with the St. Augustine Lions Club, VIP Presentation Products, Wayne Hogan of Terrell Hogan and other area businesses and individuals.

  Art Attack!

 Art Attack Program 2010 (PDF)

The Third Annual Art Attack! will be held from 1 to 9 p.m. on Saturday, May 1 at the St. Augustine Amphitheatre.
Art Attack! highlights visual and performing arts from schools throughout the county and includes elementary, middle and high school student artwork and performances.
A special performance will be held at 7:30 p.m. featuring the St. Johns County Center for the Arts at Murray Middle School and St. Augustine High School.
Tickets are $3 to $7 for kids and $5 to $10 for adults and can be purchased on site.
The annual event is sponsored by the St. Johns County Education Foundation. A copy of the program is attached.