About Us Menu
LeftNav - Indicator Image Awards

LeftNav - Indicator Image District Facts

LeftNav - Indicator Image Grants

LeftNav - Indicator Image Media Releases

LeftNav - Indicator Image Programs

LeftNav - Indicator Image Photo Galleries

Main   >   About Us   >   Media Releases

Media Releases: August 7, 2003

Nineteen schools have received the statewide distinction of being named Five Star Schools in recognition of their outstanding community involvement. This total represents 76 percent of all St. Johns County Schools.

A new award winner this year is The Webster School.

Repeat winners are Cunningham Creek Elementary School, Durbin Creek Elementary School, Fruit Cove Middle School, Hartley Elementary School, Hastings Elementary School, R. B. Hunt Elementary School, Julington Creek Elementary School, Ketterlinus Elementary School, Landrum Middle School, Mason Elementary School, Pedro Menendez High School, Mill Creek Elementary School, Nease High School, Osceola Elementary School, Ocean Palms Elementary School, Ponte Vedra-Palm Valley Elementary School, Rawlings Elementary School, and Rogers Middle School.

In order to qualify for this award, schools must have achieved 100 percent of the criteria in the categories of business involvement, partnerships, family involvement, volunteers, student community service and school advisory councils.

Although the Five Star honor does not carry any financial award, this designation is the highest honor awarded by the Florida Department of Education for community involvement. The Five Star School Award was established in 1995 to recognize the contributions played by community involvement in student success.

All of the Five Star Schools will be recognized at the September School Board meeting.

Do you remember an adult who made a real difference in your life...someone you looked up to...went to for advice? Maybe it was a teacher, a neighbor or a family friend. But it was definitely someone you will never forget. Why not thank them and pass it on by mentoring a child?

The St. Johns County School District is seeking individuals to participate in a national dropout prevention program called “Youth Motivators.” A “youth motivator” is a special type of school volunteer - a community, senior, college or business representative committed to helping at-risk students better their lives and help them reach goals toward graduation.

The youth motivator serves as a role model for the student and meets with them for at least one hour per week for 12 weeks. Youth motivators may choose to mentor an elementary, middle or high school student.

All participants receive a handbook and must attend a brief training session provided at no cost by school district staff. A training session for prospective youth mentors will be held from 9:30 to 11 a.m. on Thursday, August 14 at the Fullerwood Center, 10 Hildreth Drive.

Participants may register for the meeting by calling the Health Programs office at 819-7897. All interested persons are invited to attend.

Read more news in our Media Release Archive.


St. Johns County School District
40 Orange St. St. Augustine, FL 32084 904.819.7500